REVIEW: Dark Space by Lisa Henry

lh_dark_space_coverin

DARK SPACE

Lisa Henry. Loose Id. December 4th 2012
Goodreads.Website.Publisher.Amazon

Brady Garrett needs to go home. He’s a conscripted recruit on Defender Three, one of a network of stations designed to protect the Earth from alien attack. He’s also angry, homesick, and afraid. If he doesn’t get home he’ll lose his family, but there’s no way back except in a body bag.

Cameron Rushton needs a heartbeat. Four years ago Cam was taken by the Faceless — the alien race that almost destroyed Earth. Now he’s back, and when the doctors make a mess of getting him out of stasis, Brady becomes his temporary human pacemaker. Except they’re sharing more than a heartbeat: they’re sharing thoughts, memories, and some very vivid dreams.

Not that Brady’s got time to worry about his growing attraction to another guy, especially the one guy in the universe who can read his mind. It doesn’t mean anything. It’s just biochemistry and electrical impulses. It doesn’t change the truth: Brady’s alone in the universe.

Now the Faceless are coming and there’s nothing anyone can do. You can’t stop your nightmares. Cam says everyone will live, but Cam’s probably a traitor and a liar like the military thinks. But that’s okay. Guys like Brady don’t expect happy endings.

REVIEW:

lh_dark_space_coverinOh how I regret for not reading this any sooner, for keep putting it off my next-to-read list and for reading it at all.

Because now I want to relive it all over again.

And I literally just closed the damn book.

Really, Brady is now one of best MC I’ve ever encountered. For once being a poor 16 year-old drafted kid, he turned out to be alright. More than alright. A little bit angry and cynic maybe, but really, who wouldn’t? When you have a big scary alien, the Faceless, coming to Earth with the intention an exterminator would to bugs, you are more than free to be angry and cynic.

After girls we talked about the officers, and which ones hated us most that week, and how we never did anything to deserve it, and they were just assholes, and if they didn’t have those stripes on their shoulders, they wouldn’t be so tough. Man-to-man we could take them. That was all talk too, I guess.

But Brady was so much more than that. He was unbelievably real in the midst of the most unreal situation you could ever imagine. It was a very exhilarating and intense experience to be in his head, and Cam’s by extension. I think I was half in love with him, because even when things were creeping the hell out of me I still wanted to actually go there and hold him. God.

And boy, the bloody writing, it was so awesome. Sure I was a little overloaded and confused over the first few pages, and if you find yourself experiencing that, please do me a favor and CONTINUE. Sci-Fi is not my thing, it never has, but this? It definitely is mine. The whole telepathy thing is not overdone and the GFY theme is one of the best I’ve seen yet.

I wish Ms. Henry had a few more pages for the ending though. I’m hoping for a sequel, or even a novella here. Meh who am I kidding? Another page of Brady’s mind and I’d be happy as a clam.

It’s sexy, it’s funny, it’s scary, it’s heartbreaking, thrilling and at the same time romantic. Sigh.

“Do you want to get fucked, recruit?”
I squeezed my eyes shut under the blindfold as a jolt ran through my body. “Yes, sir!”
He ghosted his palm across my nipple. “And what does that make you?”
“Yours, sir,” I said.

And to quote Joolz: “Anyone who thinks Sci-Fi isn’t for them. SCI-FI IS TOTALLY FOR YOU

RATING:

45stars

2 responses to “REVIEW: Dark Space by Lisa Henry

Leave a Reply

