REVIEW: Bone Rider by J. Fally

l

BONE RIDER

J. Fally. Dreamspinner Press. October 28th 2013
Goodreads.Publisher.Amazon

Riley Cooper is on the run. Misha Tokarev, the love of his life, turned out to be an assassin for the Russian mob, and when it comes to character flaws, Riley draws the line at premeditated murder. Alien armor system McClane is also on the run, for reasons that include accidentally crashing a space ship into Earth and evading U.S. military custody. A failed prototype, McClane was scheduled for destruction. Sabotaging the ship put an end to that, but McClane is dubbed a bone rider for good reason—he can’t live without a host body. That’s why he first stows away in Riley’s truck and then in Riley himself. Their reluctant partnership soon evolves into something much more powerful—and personal—than either of them could have imagined.

Together, they embark on a road trip from hell, made all the more exciting by the government troops and mob enforcers hot on their trail. Misha is determined to win Riley back and willing to do whatever it takes to keep him safe. When hitman and alien join forces, they discover their impressive combined potential for death and destruction. It will take everything Riley has to steer them through the mess they create.

REVIEW:

After swearing off Sci-Fi, the last year’s tries had seriously made me considering it again. Because really, I could only stomach so much interracial sex and weirdness. Not to mention those cliche codenames and government-captures-alien plot.

The thing is, Bone Rider had all of those and more characters and point of views than you might even want to care.

Which is why it’s awesome.

Especially because I’m in love with said cliched alien.

“A sentient alien armor and weapons system,” Riley clarified. “Very sophisticated. Very unique. Very much a smartass. His name’s McClane.”

A better describtion could not be made. McClane is totall smart-ass and he’s totally adorable like that. So there I was, excited to what would happen, falling in love left and right with most of the characters and snorting in amusement every few minutes.

“I can and will protect you in return for riding your bones for a bit. I’ve already taken the liberty of hardening your skeletal structure. Did you know your left knee was all kinds of fucked up?”

“You liked it, the alien repeated, smugly. You like me. I’m awesome.
“Don’t lick me again.”

“If you’re not gonna pay me compliments, I want compensation, McClane demanded. You promised me man cakes.”

Believe me, I could quote up his every sentences, that’s how screwed I am.

The book was action packed and was such an enjoyable ride. I loved seeing how desperate and badass Misha was, how lovable Riley was and I didn’t want the book to end!

Well of course, I’m most probably be biased because of McClane and all. But there were some plot holes and peeves that I ended up ignoring though. First, every single thing that happened in the book was too damned convenient.

[INSERT MAJOR SPOILER ALERT HERE]

I mean, the satellite picking up videos of on Riley and McClane the first time they met? Convenient.

The way the dad who posed a huge problem the whole book just died in the end? Very anticlimactic death I might say too. Very convenient.

The group surviving every single unbelievable obstacles and, worse, the military right on their tails again right afterwards? I still could not wrap my head around it.

And believe me that’s not all.

Oh well.

All in all, it was a fun book. Could have been better, of course, but it is a Sci-Fi book. More than a little impossibilities are in order, I guess. And I do admit giving the extra star just for McClane and their interbody sex.

*Stares*

Don’t judge me!

RATING:

Leave a Reply

